Jafferi takes first team honour at awards evening

  • September 4, 2018
  • Ian Lamont

Asim Jafferi was crowned Merstham first team's player of the year on Saturday at the club's players' awards night.

Captain Laurie Nicholson said it was a close run thing, especially up against Noman Javed who had claimed the award for the past two years. He also commended others for their contributions including Ben Baker, Ed Dawson and Andy Rivers, as well as returning faces George Neal and Gus Locke for their huge contributions.
The second team player of the year, chosen by captain Richard Feist, was Mohsin Ali whose 22 wickets helped keep the team in the division.
James Lowe's choice for the third team was Callum Letts, who as an opening bowler had been "unplayable" in spells, while Gopa Nair's choice for the fourth team was wicketkeeper Rob Wood, whose batting tally came second only to the skipper this year.
The Sunday first team player of the year was shared between George Chellis and Fergus Carrick, while Michael Pitcher's choice for the Sunday second team was Tony Rickards for his advice to the first-time captain.
Anthony Maplesden picked up U16s player of the year as his team showed off their shield for winning their league.
Club stalwart Mike Griffin was re-presented with his certificate from the Surrey OSCAs, as runner-up for the Heartbeat of the Club category.
Groundsmen Bernard Feist and Bob McGilvray were thanked for their sterling efforts in a difficult season, weather wise, in the enduring heat and given a meal out with their wives.
Chellis took the runs award, scoring 803 during the season, ahead of next best Nicholson on 766.
Jafferi and Javed shared the most wickets trophy with 37 apiece, one ahead of Imran Aslam, while Dawson topped the catches table with 18.
The only non-wicketkeeper on the list of the top five was Rickards with 10 - but he did pick up another "most of" award, being the unfortunate recipient of the most ducks award with seven. 
This year the prize was a big rubber duck. He did play rather a larger number of matches than many, and just so he doesn't feel alone, those presented with smaller ducks for their (ice) baths were Alvin Sathey (6), Sunny Bowry and Matt Greaves (4) and Matt Hill and Ian Lamont (3).
Thank you to Harry David for the photos, and Harry David and Sathey Kumar for the food on the night.
Laurie Nicholson presents first team player of the year to Asim Jaffry
James Lowe presents Callum Letts (right) with the third team award
Top bowlers Asim Jafferi and Noman Javed
Sunday Second Team Player of the Year Tony Rickards
Fourth team player of the year Rob Wood, right, with Gopa Nair
Ant Maplesden (centre) the U16s player of the year